drive-by

I am always
almost
there

never quite
there

almost always meeting
you but not quite
following
through

play acting
the end behavior
of a movie scene with
no character development

signpost handling
not putting in time
not really listening

halfway out the door
never in the thick of it

I don’t know your middle name or
where you were born

I forget the name of your ex-husband

some day my account will run dry
some day you will see my game
some day I’ll be recognized
for all my drive-by crime

lady k

Leave a Reply

