Peace comes

Peace comes
In the middle of the action
Now and again
To insert into the war
Without end
It’s an old story.
I thought you’d have it figured out by now.

Where are my armies?

Where did I place my battlefields?

Christ, these high tech weapons are fucking it up

these night scopes and precision strikes

and Blackhawk blades slicing the air

like metronomes messing up time

never in sync.

Makes me lose the devil in the details.

I’ve managed to lose my war,

If you can imagine such a thing.

Why did it have to get so modern?

Joan of Arc went to battle with nothing

but the voices in her head

And a well sharpened sword.

Salah-addin was a gentleman and even when he defeated me

I loved him more.

Washington was resolute, quiet with his stealth

And he had very good posture.

I’m nostalgic for a good war.

Peace comes

In the middle of the action

To interrupt all of this.

Once Einstein said, “I don’t know what

World War III will be fought with, but

World War IV will be fought with sticks and rocks.”

In the middle of the action the peace comes.

Charlotte Mann

One thought on “Peace comes

  1. Ruth says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Ruth

    http://www.infrared-sauna-spot.info

Leave a Reply

