I work the second shift

I work the second shift
At night when I come home
I open the refrigerator and
I eat something simple
Already prepared
Yesterday’s white rice
I do this not
Because I am too tired to put the food in a pot and place it
on the stove
But because
It is simpler to
Take something
Just as it is
Love is like this
You don’t have to think put me in a bowl and heat me in
the microwave
You’re perfect just the way you are.
A hundred single kernels of delicious white rice.

Russell Vidrick

Leave a Reply

