reverberations

The other day I sat in the sand
while cast out waves slapped
and sizzled to music I hadn’t
heard before.

The wet spray shocked me
into a time a place
where my father worked,

it teased me and flirted
with everybody to laugh to jump
in and go for a long swim.

It’s been a long line of dark
land and dry nights littered
with signs no swimming allowed.

And now I wanna go play
where my daddy went swimming
everyday. To stand, listening
to wave after wave,

letting them soak in beneath
my skin, then go swimming
further from shore.

Steve Thomas

Leave a Reply

