conversations with myself

i drive thru my neighborhood
the mutilated trees
the raped maples
the Y of their crotches open
where taut leashes of electricity
vibrate into the dull white sky

the smoke throated bag lady croaks
for change outside Wendy’s
the fallible world frosting over
with nicotine & carbon dioxide

i am crawling toward grace
i am crawling toward sanity
i am crawling toward an understanding
of myself
thru the mucous messages of the past
the choke pill of inchoate reality
the screaming of talking heads
swinging from the rear view mirror

i pause to pick at the hardened snot
of tomorrow
where a steeple appears from the gloom —
neon mega church —
free gas card when you attend
this sunday’s service for the first time

now it’s home to the stinking
breath of slapdash death
more conversations with myself
hope forgotten
relentless snow

wendy shaffer

6 thoughts on “conversations with myself

  1. kathy says:

    Aw man, sad but good.

  2. Stan Schneider says:

    Wendy Hope Shaffer? Is this you? I haven’t been able to find you, so I tried Goggle. The poem about tree crotches seemed like it could be yours (i’s not capitalized). If you are the girl from Shaker, lived in Boca, Euclid, Lakewood and E.Cleveland, please contact me at above e-mail. My phone # and address are still the same.

  3. Stan Schneider says:

    Wendy Hope Shaffer? Is this you? I haven’t been able to find you, so I tried Goggle. The poem about tree crotches seemed like it could be yours (i’s not capitalized). If you are the girl from Shaker, lived in Boca, Euclid, Lakewood and E.Cleveland, please contact me at above e-mail. My phone # and address are still the same.

  4. Stan Schneider says:

    Dear Wendy, After more researching of the Wendy Shaffers on Google, I saw a poetry listing with your brother’s name and picture and yours below it… I mistakenly sent the same two messages (above). Please, Please contact me. E-mail is stoneyfijord@Yahoo.com. I don’t have my own computer, so I don’t check it too often… Please call or write… Stan

Leave a Reply

