LIFE

I remember when I first
Saw you draw a fish / or
Was it a bird / and I under-
Stood the possibilities of
Art / realizing I had no talent
I thank you for that

I remember when others
Bade me fight / sometimes
I ran but sometimes I fought
Sometimes I lost and some-
Times I won / I thank you
For that

I remember when I lied
And you believed me and
Other times when I told the
Truth and it meant more
To me and no one listened
I thank you for that

I remember when I first
Loved / and you loved me
Back and when I cried be-
Cause it hurt more than any
Fight I’d ever lost / more
Than any lie I’d ever told

And I remember Death
When he came for someone
Close / and I understood
One day he would come
For me / for this and all
I’ve forgotten I thank you

KE

Leave a Reply

